70th anniversary of Hanoi's Liberation Day Vietnam - Asia 2023 Smart City Summit Hanoi celebrates 15 years of administrative boundary adjustment 12th Vietnam-France decentrialized cooperation conference 31st Sea Games - Vietnam 2021 Covid-19 Pandemic
Dec 30, 2020 / 15:27

What are missions of Hanoi’s mayor and deputies?

The Hanoi People’s Committee is the State administrative body in Hanoi city, exercising Vietnam’s Constitution and laws, the government’s documents, and resolutions by the municipal People’s Council.

The Hanoi People’s Committee on December 28 issued a decision on the missions of the committee’s chairman and six deputy chairpersons for the 2021-26 term.

Under Decision 5686/QD-UBND, Chairman Chu Ngoc Anh and his six deputies namely Le Hong Son, Nguyen Trong Dong, Duong Duc Tuan, Ha Minh Hai, Nguyen Manh Quyen, and Chu Xuan Dung will take missions as follows.

 Chairman Chu Ngoc Anh of the Hanoi People's Committee. Photo: Cong Tho/Kinhtedothi

Mr. Chu Ngoc Anh takes the leadership of the committee and oversees its operations as a whole. The chairman makes direct governance in the city’s policies and planning on socio-economy, specific field, districts, and urban development.

He is in charge of defence, security, internal and external affairs and big and sensitive issues; administration reforms, organizational structure.

He gives ideas to projects and issues to be submitted to the municipal Party Committee.

The chairman directly manages the People’s Committee Office and the Department of Planning and Investment, in addition to the city’s Police, the Hanoi Capital High Command, Districts of Hoan Kiem, Ba Dinh and Dong Da.

He chairs several steering committees operating in the city’s planning for 2021-30 and vision to 2045, e-government, the city’s key projects, food safety, anti-corruption, social security, natural disaster prevention, complimentary issues, and enlistment.

The chairman is required to follow tasks given by the Party Central Committee, the Politburo, the Secretariat, the State, the National Assembly, the Government, the Prime Minister, and the city Party Committee.

 Five new deputy chairpersons (holding flowers) of the Hanoi People's Committee. Photo: Kinhtedothi

Mr. Le Hong Son, who is deputy permanent chairman, is in charge of internal affairs and justice.

He directly manages the personnel issues (civil servants) of Hanoi’s agencies from the city to grassroots levels; the operations of state bodies, associations and non-governmental organizations; and youth affairs.

He directs the pilot of the local urban administration model and supervises the enforcement of legal documents and legal consultancy as well as the ethnic minorities and religious affairs, and defence and social security.

He supports the chairman in cooperating with the Hanoi Capital High Command, Police, Internal Affairs, and Justice.

He supervises the operations of Ha Dong, Quoc Oai, Bac Tu Liem, and Dan Phuong districts.

Mr. Nguyen Trong Dong is in charge of land, site clearance, accommodation, resettlement, natural resources and environment, urban hygiene, and investigations and denouncement affairs.

He manages agencies specializing in Natural Resources and Environment, Inspection, Water Supply and Drainage and Urban Environment.

He keeps supervision on Cau Giay, Soc Son, Thach That, Me Linh, and Dong Anh districts.

Mr. Duong Duc Tuan is in charge of planning, architecture, construction, and urban building and management. He supervises the departments of Construction, Transport, Planning and Architecture, and Traffic Projects Management Board.

He manages the districts of Nam Tu Liem, Thuong Tin, Ba Vi, and Phuc Tho.

Mr. Ha Minh Hai oversees general economics, finance, budget issues, keeping direct management on the city’s socio-economic development; official development assistance (ODA), soft loans, and grants, and foreign-invested enterprises; capital allocation and disbursement; State business privatization.

He gives direct management to the departments of Finance, the city’s Investment and Development Fund, Construction and Import-export Company, and Lottery.

He supervises the operations of the city’s Taxation, Treasury, Statistics Office, State Bank of Vietnam – Hanoi Branch, and Hanoi Stock Exchange.

He keeps management on the districts of Hai Ba Trung, Thanh Xuan, Thanh Tri, and Son Tay Town.

Mr. Nguyen Manh Quyen is responsible for trade, import-export, and tourism; industrial parks, trade frauds and smuggling prevention; transportation; telecommunications; agriculture and rural development, natural disaster prevention.

He supervises the operations of Phu Xuyen, Chuong My, Ung Hoa, My Duc, and Thanh Oai districts.

Mr. Chu Xuan Dung assumes responsibility for socio-cultural field and education, labor and employment, sports, information and communications.

The deputy chairman manages the districts of Long Bien, Tay Ho, Hoai Duc, Hoang Mai, and Gia Lam.